City Council

 Mayor Steve Dechant
Southeast District
Councilmember Jade Piros de Carvalho
Northeast District
Councilmember Jon Daveline
Northwest District
Vice-Mayor David Inskeep
Councilmember Nancy Soldner
Southwest District

  1. Community Conversation - Race

    Please join us for the Community Conversations that will focus on racial issues. This event is hosted by a variety of community partners to help overcome racial bias and help reshape our thinking and culture. Read on...
  2. Fire Officer Training May 8-10

    Chiefs Salka and Lasky have put together a dynamic multi-day program that addresses the many skills and abilities that company officers need to have to be effective in the firehouse and on the fireground. Read on...
  3. 2018 Trash and Recycling Schedule

    Visit the website to view the 2018 Refuse and Recycling Schedule. Read on...
View All >

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.
View Agendas and Minutes
2 January 2018
Agenda Minutes Meeting Video
16 January 2018

Archived City Council Meeting Videos

images (2)


The Governing Body consists of 5 council members, with 1 elected at-large and 4 elected by districts on a non-partisan basis. All district members are elected to 4-year terms; the at-large member is elected to a 2-year term. The mayor and vice-mayor are then selected for a 1-year term by the Council members. The City enacted term limitations for the council in 1994, and no one shall serve consecutively for more than 1 partial term plus 2 consecutive 4-year terms.

The Council establishes and sets the policy of the City. The Council hires a city manager to carry out the policies and laws of the City, to administer the approved budget, serve as the chief administrative officer of the City and to conduct the daily business of the City.

See a map of the Council members' districts (PDF).


Anyone who requires an auxiliary aid or service for effective communication at a City Council meeting (or any City program, service or activity), should contact Meryl Dye, Assistant City Manager/ADA Coordinator, at 620-259-4118 (TDD/TTY KS Relay Center 7-1-1) or email, as soon as possible but no later than 48 hours before the scheduled meeting.