Landmarks Commission

Regular Meetings

Agendas & Minutes  

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval. 
View Most Recent Agendas and Minutes

Mr. Wes Bartlett (Chair)
Ms. Jo Higgins (Vice Chair)
Ms. Chelsea Dawson
Mr. Greg Holmes
Ms. Gale Wall
Ms. Shannon Whetzel
Mr. Joel Haag

The City seeks preservation-minded Hutchinson residents to serve on the Landmarks Commission.  If you are interested in serving, please complete an Application for Appointment

Membership Structure
The 7 member commission is appointed by the Governing Body.  At least 40% of the members are required to be preservation-related professionals such as an architect, architectural historian, archaeologist, historian, landscape architect, or planner.  Each appointment is for a 3-year term.  No member shall serve consecutively for more than one partial term plus two, 3-year terms.  The Director of Planning and Development serves as secretary to the Landmarks Commission.

Attendance Policy
An attendance record of all meetings is kept.  Resolution No. 2744, Section 4, states "That members shall be required to attend not less than 75% of regular meetings."  Attendance is also noted in the annual report to the State Historic Preservation Office as part of the Certified Local Government agreement between the City and the State.

Landmarks Commissioner Training
Landmarks Commissioners are required to attend at least one historic preservation training each year according to the Certified Local Government agreement between the City and the State.  Training opportunities are provided during regular Landmarks Commission meetings and through conferences and training workshops across Kansas.

The Landmarks Commission was established to:
  • Preserve buildings and sites of historic and architectural importance
  • Safeguard the heritage and culture of Hutchinson
  • Encourage the maintenance of historic property
  • Promote the study of history, culture, and architectural design
This Commission makes recommendations to the Governing Body and state agencies on historic preservation matters.

Establishment Authority
By Statute K.S.A. 75-2724 and City Ordinance No. 7095.

Public Meetings
Meetings are open to the public.  Anyone who requires an auxiliary aid or service for effective communication at a Landmarks Commission meeting (or any City program, service or activity), should call the City Manager's Office at 620-694-2641 (TDD - KS Relay Center 711), as soon as possible but no later than 48 hours before the scheduled meeting.